Parliamentary Jazz Awards

The Parliamentary Jazz Awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group and sponsored by music licencing company PPL and Jazz Services.  The awards allow the public to nominate their favourite jazz stars in a number of different categories, and are a fantastic way of celebrating those special individuals who make up our brilliant and diverse jazz scene.

Guy Barker and host Moira Stuart at the 2013 awards.  Photo: Hayley Madden

The selection process has three stages:

First Stage - Entry Forms

Entry forms are made available online at the Jazz Services website, and anyone is welcome to nominate in each of the following categories:

  • Jazz Album of the Year
  • Jazz Vocalist of the Year
  • Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year
  • Jazz Ensemble of the Year
  • Jazz Venue of the Year (inc. clubs, venues, festivals and promoters)
  • Jazz Media Award (inc. broadcasters, journalists, magazines, blogs, listings and books)
  • Jazz Education Award
  • Jazz Newcomer Award 
  • Services to Jazz Award

Second Stage - nominations

Each year a selection panel is chosen by Jazz Services of over 20 individuals, each member with their own particular area of expertise.  The panel represents a broad cross-section of backgrounds united in their endeavour for their love and knowledge of jazz.

From the public entries received, the Panel selects 3-5 nominees for each category for the consideration of 100 jazz loving members of the Houses of Parliament who are members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG).  The number of public votes received for each entry is not considered, just that they have been nominated - a nominee with just one public vote has as equal a chance of being considered in this second stage as a nominee with one hundred public votes.

Final Stage - Winners

The members of APPJAG choose the eventual winners in each category from the Nominees chosen by the jazz selection panel, co-chaired by Michael Connarty MP and Lord Colwyn.

The winners are announced at the annual Parliamentary Jazz Awards held each May at the House of Commons.


Read 12051 times